I’m Back!

I’m back!

What have I done since my last post? A lot!

After graduating in May with a B.A. in Psychology, I spent the summer looking for a job. It turns out that the process of job hunting is much slower than I anticipated. It was difficult to deal with rejection, even though I was having fun in the meantime. At least being unemployed meant that I had time to explore Los Angeles and much of the Pacific NW!
IMG_5963
             IMG_5427                     IMG_5481

During my last three months in the United States I lived on couches, floors, and spare rooms up and down the West Coast. A BIG thank you to everyone who hosted me!! I also did a stint as a trade-worker in a Seattle youth hostel through workaway.info.

After months of not hearing back from employers, I went to a family reunion in South Dakota. We were less than a day into the reunion when I received an email asking me to come to Torquay (South Devon, England) for an interview. Scheduled for the following week!

It was sudden, but the job excited me. So I collected my family’s delta miles, and booked a flight to Heathrow.

InstagramCapture_798723d0-acfd-4846-9cf2-27265220b215

It’s a long way to go just for an interview, but ultimately the risk paid off as I received an offer just four days after stepping off the plane.

So here I am! Since then I’ve been busy at my grandparent’s house in Ilkley becoming a “proper” UK resident: finding a place to live, setting up a bank account, becoming obsessed with the Great British Bake Off…

Two days ago I left Ilkley to start this new chapter in Torquay. I’ve decided to start this blog again to keep everyone updated on my year in England. Hopefully I will do and see things worthy of documentation!

IMG_20151015_160813

2 thoughts on “I’m Back!

Leave a Reply

